The history of Iona Heritage Centre

Stacks Image 37
The Heritage Centre is in the former Church of Scotland Manse which, along with the adjacent Church was designed by Thomas Telford.
When Iona’s Minister retired in 1985, The new Minister was inducted to a linked charge (Iona and the Ross of Mull linked with Kilfinichen and Kilvickeon). Bunessan Manse was used, leaving Iona Manse empty. After an enthusiastic publicity campaign and fund-raising effort, the Church of Scotland agreed to lease the building to Trustees (Iona Residents/Church Members) as a Heritage Centre. It opened to visitors in 1990.
Later, the MacInnes Room opened over lunch-time for two hours, run by volunteers. This is now the Heritage Garden Café.
The Centre displays facets of Island Life since 1700. View historical photos, search for your ancestors, explore the geology and flowers of Iona and browse the Shop for gifts and keep-sakes.
Exhibition
The exhibition consists of panels, photographs, objects of interest, together with information about some notable island families and events.
Shop
The shop stocks a good selection of reasonably priced cards, gifts and books - many particularly relevant to Iona.
Garden Café
The café is run on our behalf by David and Sheelagh. They offer a great selection of lunchtime dishes, together with hot drinks and sweet treats for morning coffee of afternoon tea.
Opening Hours
Please check back later for our new opening hours.